Why I am a “Buddhist”

I’m not a very good one at all…a Buddhist that is. I often forget to keep my mouth shut, and I don’t eat vegan (or vegetarian), nor do I go with my sangha as much as I should…but I still call myself a Buddhist because I meditate and I follow Buddha’s word to the best of my ability.

I’ve never been into religion. I tried being a good little Christian, and I found myself questioning God constantly, even when I was a child. I’ve read both the Bible and the Koran and though I relate to it and I find it inspiring, I just feel like I was reading a fiction. I’m sorry to who that offends.

However, I do feel Jesus existed, and that he was a prophet. Do I think he was the Lord’s son? In my eyes, no he wasn’t. He said some words of wisdom, and lived his life. Is it bad people follow him with other beliefs? Not even close! Jesus is a great person to follow, I just found I wasn’t able too.

However, Buddha doesn’t act like a God. He, like Jesus, sprouted a bunch of wisdom, lived his life, then died. His wisdom just rings true to me. He was a prophet, much like Jesus (at least in my eyes). Though I’m not likely to pray directly to him as some may do towards Jesus, I do wonder about his ideas and use those to wander through my life. And what Buddha says about truth just clicks with me. It just makes sense.

That, my dear friends, is why I call myself a Buddhist. I’ll probably talk about some of his quotes at a later date. Though I will never be a monk, I still consider myself a Buddhist.

Leave a Reply

